Rowing back on track

Published 8 August 2016 (AEDT)

Racing has been cancelled at the Lagoa Stadium. © 2016 Getty Images

ROWING: Organisers deemed windy conditions on Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas unsafe for racing today (Sunday) and cancelled all racing and training for rowing at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. Organisers have now confirmed a new schedule which will now see three Australian crews race on Monday in Rio de Janeiro.

Australia’s women’s quadruple sculls (Jessica Hall, Kerry Hore, Jennifer Cleary and Madeleine Edmunds) will race their repechage at 08.40am local time on Monday (AEST 9.40pm). The crew will require a top four finish in their repechage to proceed to the A-Final on Wednesday.

Australia’s Women’s Eight of Fiona Albert, Jessica Morrison, Alexandra Hagan, Meaghan Volker, Molly Goodman, Charlotte Sutherland, Lucy Stephan, Olympia Aldersey and coxswain Sarah Banting will compete in their heat Monday morning at 08.50am local time (AEST 9.50pm).

The crew will take on reigning Olympic champions the USA, Netherlands and Romania, with only the victor progressing straight to the A-Final, while the remainder will be required to race the repechage on Wednesday.

Australia’s Men’s Four of William Lockwood, Joshua Dunkley-Smith, Joshua Booth and Alexander Hill who had their race cancelled on Sunday will now compete in their rescheduled heat, against the Netherlands, Romania, Russia and Germany, at 1:00pm local time (AEST Tuesday 02:00am). 

Lucy Benjamin

Sign up for fan newsletter

Related Info

Yanitsas ready to inspire the next generation 30 September 2016 (AEDT)

For Australian goalkeeper Lea Yanitsas the Rio Olympics brought about every emotion she had ever experienced in her life.


Dennis shows cycling form before worlds 21 September 2016 (AEDT)

Rohan Dennis has shown his world road championship preparations are on course with a win he says is close to time-trial perfection.


Honeymoon for Brennan as Olympic dream realised 20 September 2016 (AEDT)

Three weeks of African bliss is in store for recently crowned Olympic Champion Kim Brennan.